Settler Memory: The Disavowal of Indigeneity and the Politics of Race

Peer reviewed: 
No, item is not peer reviewed.
Scholarly level: 
Faculty/Staff
Date created: 
2022-05-17
Keywords: 
SFU
SFU’s Vancity Office of Community Engagement
Am Johal
Below the Radar
Kevin Bruyneel
Settler Memory
Indigeneity
Race
Politics
W.E.B. Du Bois
James Baldwin
United States
Black Studies
Native Americans
African Americans
Critical Race
Indigenous Studies
Abstract: 

Settler Memory: The Disavowal of Indigeneity in the Political Life of Race in the United States (University of North Carolina Press 2021) is about the displacement of Indigeneity in the discourse around race in American political theory. It specifically touches on settler memory and acknowledging the history of Indigenous peoples in colonialism, and then disavowing the active presence of settler colonialism and Indigenous politics in the present.

Am and Kevin discuss how Black theorists, like James Baldwin, discuss indigeneity in their politics, and how tensions can arise between different conceptions of land, history, and identity. Kevin’s overall project is to link antiracism with anticolonialism, which shows through in the conversation.

Description: 

Bio: 

Kevin Bruyneel is Professor of Politics at Babson College, teaching about  race, colonialism and collective memory. He wrote the books,  Settler Memory: The Disavowal of Indigeneity in the Political Life of Race in the United States (University of North Carolina Press 2021) and The Third Space of Sovereignty: The Postcolonial Politics of U.S.-Indigenous Relations (University of Minnesota Press 2007). Kevin was born and raised in Vancouver, British Columbia, studied at Simon Fraser University and the New School for Social Research in New York City, and now lives and teaches in Massachusetts


Resources:

Settler Memory: The Disavowal of Indigeneity in the Political Life of Race in the United States by Kevin Bruyneel: https://uncpress.org/book/9781469665238/settler-memory/ 

Bacon's Rebellion: https://www.blackpast.org/african-american-history/events-african-american-history/bacons-rebellion-1676/ 

W.E.B. Du Bois: https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/dubois/

James Baldwin: https://nmaahc.si.edu/james-baldwin

The White Possessive: Property, Power, and Indigenous Sovereignty by Aileen Moreton-Robinson: https://www.upress.umn.edu/book-division/books/the-white-possessive

Layli Long Soldier: https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/layli-long-soldier

Dr. Kim TallBear: https://kimtallbear.com/

Cristina Sharpe: https://profiles.laps.yorku.ca/profiles/cesharpe/

Cedric Robinson: https://globalsocialtheory.org/thinkers/robinson-cedric-j/

I Am Not Your Negro: https://www.pbs.org/independentlens/documentaries/i-am-not-your-negro/

Kyle Mays: https://www.kyle-mays.com/

Afro Pessimism: https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2020/07/20/the-argument-of-afropessimism

Frank Wilderson: https://www.frankbwildersoniii.com/about/

Leanne Betasamosake Simpson: https://www.leannesimpson.ca/

Robyn Maynard: https://robynmaynard.com/

Stuart Hall: https://globalsocialtheory.org/thinkers/hall-stuart/

Kēhaulani Kauanui: https://jkauanui.faculty.wesleyan.edu/

Jean M. O’Brien: https://shekonneechie.ca/biographies/jean-obrien/

Lee Maracle: https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/lee-maracle-death-bc-indigenous-writer-poet-1.6245582

Jodi Byrd: https://as.cornell.edu/news/new-faculty-jodi-byrd

Campuses and Colonialism: https://www.oah.org/insights/opportunities-for-historians/cfp-campuses-and-colonialism-symposium/

Malinda Maynor Lowery: http://history.emory.edu/home/people/faculty/lowery-malinda-maynor.html

Stephen Kantrowitz: https://history.wisc.edu/people/kantrowitz-stephen/

Alyssa Mt. Pleasant: https://arts-sciences.buffalo.edu/africana-and-american-studies/faculty/faculty-directory/mt-pleasant.html

Language: 
English
Document type: 
Audio
Rights: 
You are free to copy, distribute and transmit this work under the following conditions: You must give attribution to the work (but not in any way that suggests that the author endorses you or your use of the work); You may not use this work for commercial purposes; You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work. Any further uses require the permission of the rights holder (or author if no rights holder is listed). These rights are based on the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives License.
Citation: 
Johal, Am. “Settler Memory: The Disavowal of Indigeneity and the Politics of Race — with Kevin Bruyneel” Below the Radar, SFU’s Vancity Office of Community Engagement. Podcast audio, May 17, 2022. https://www.sfu.ca/vancity-office-community-engagement/below-the-radar-podcast/episodes/173-kevin-bruyneel.html.
Statistics: