Web-scale Discovery Service Adoption in Canadian Academic Libraries

Peer reviewed: 
Yes, item is peer reviewed.
Scholarly level: 
Final version published as: 

Wong, S. (2020). Web-scale Discovery Service Adoption in Canadian Academic LibrariesPartnership: The Canadian Journal of Library and Information Practice and Research15(2), 1-24. doi: 10.21083/partnership.v15i2.6124

Date created: 
Web-scale discovery services
Discovery services
Index-based discovery
Canadian academic libraries
Academic libraries
Post-secondary libraries

This study presents an overview of web-scale discovery service adoption in Canadian academic libraries. Web-scale discovery services (WSDS) have been widely embraced in Canadian academic libraries. EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) is the most adopted system for colleges and institutes while Primo Central from Ex Libris dominates the university market for web-scale discovery services. Bundling web-scale discovery services with library services platform (LSP) implementations are increasing in Canada. This study shows that Canadian academic libraries that have migrated from a traditional integrated library system (ILS) to an LSP have also opted for their LSP vendor’s corresponding web-scale discovery service. As more Canadian academic libraries implement an LSP bundled with a web-scale discovery service, there may come a time when web-scale discovery services are no longer separated from discussions on LSPs. The choices available for LSP and web-scale discovery services are shrinking due to vendor mergers and acquisitions in this area.

Document type: 
You are free to copy, distribute and transmit this work under the following conditions: You must give attribution to the work (but not in any way that suggests that the author endorses you or your use of the work); You may not use this work for commercial purposes; You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work. Any further uses require the permission of the rights holder (or author if no rights holder is listed). These rights are based on the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives License.